973-366-9800
Free initial consultation | Se habla español

First offense DWI convictions can carry steep penalties

There is nothing wrong with going out and having a good time and enjoying a couple of drinks. However, if you get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol, you could find yourself facing charges for driving while intoxicated if you get pulled over by the police.

In New Jersey, a DWI conviction can carry serious consequences. If upon being tested your blood alcohol content level is above 0.08 percent but below 0.10 percent, you could receive any the following penalties:

  • A fine ranging from $250 to $400.
  • As much as 30 Days imprisonment.
  • A 3 month suspension of your driver's license.
  • A minimum required period of time at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
  • A yearly $1,000 surcharge on your auto insurance for three years.

As steep as these penalties may seem, they are applicable to first offenses. The penalties for subsequent DWI convictions are even greater. Likewise, if your BAC is measured at 0.10 or above, the level of punishment increases.

So, if you receive DWI charges you will have some important decisions to make regarding your defense. For example, It may be possible to bring the field sobriety test results into question. Also, if it appears a conviction is imminent, you could possibly work out plan for an alternative form of sentencing with the court, such as counseling or community service, in order to avoid a jail sentence.

The choices you make regarding your defense against DWI charges could have an impact on your life moving forward. As such, you may want to seek the advice and counsel of a New Jersey DWI attorney. The attorney could analyze your arrest record and assess your personal circumstances in an effort toward getting your best possible legal outcome.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information