Most motorists are well aware that the state of New Jersey takes the prosecution of those accused of driving while under the influence very seriously. The possible penalties for DUI convictions include fines, loss of driving privileges and even jail time. But in addition to these forms of punishment, the court may also require the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Essentially, the ignition interlock device will prevent your car from starting should your breath-alcohol concentration level register at greater than 0.05 percent. If you are ever required by the court to have the device installed, the MVC will send you a notice of suspension along with directions on how you may obtain the device.
Requirements for installing the device and the duration of time the device must remain in your vehicle following a first DUI are contingent upon the judge's discretion and your BAC level, so long as your BAC was under 0.15 percent. However, if your BAC was 0.15 percent or higher, you will be required to use the device for six months up to one year after having your license restored.
Ignition interlock device requirements are even harsher for second and third DUI offenses. In such cases, you would have to continue using the device for up to three years following the restoration of your driving privileges.
Also, note that if you are ordered by the judge to have the ignition interlock device installed and you fail to do so, you could have your driving privileges revoked for yet another year.
If you are ever charged with a DUI in New Jersey, you will have to carefully consider your legal options. An experienced DUI attorney could go over your case and advise you regarding your chances of having the charges dropped or reduced.